Toll-Free: +1-844-499-6700 [email protected]

Attempting to delete a company file in QuickBooks, but unable to find the delete option? Well, the company file in QuickBooks can be deleted just like other files on the system. Deleting a company file prevents it from showing up in the list of company files. The procedure to delete company files in QuickBooks doesn’t involve any rocket science. It is a basic process that can be followed by any of the QuickBooks users. However, before you carry out the deletion process, you must ensure that you are deleting the right file. Also, ensure to include the asterisk before the extension type, to ascertain that the search works properly. The files include: 

  • *.qbw (Working Files) 
  • *.qbb (Back Up Files) 
  • *.qba (Accountants Copy Files) 
  • *.qbx (Accountants Transfer Files) 
  • *.qby (Accountants Change Files)

To help you with this process, we are here with this segment sharing the complete details of how you can delete a company file without messing things up. To learn further, stick around this piece of writing, or you can further consult our technical support professionals at  +1-844-499-6700, and our certified team will help you with all sorts of QuickBooks-related queries. 

Also Read: Fix QuickBooks Company File in Use Error

Essential Points to consider before deleting a company file 

Before you perform the steps to delete a company file, it is essential to keep a note of certain points. 

  1. Initially, you would have to sign in to QuickBooks Account 
  2. Also, navigate to the charts of accounts in QuickBooks
  3. Later on, click on the file menu. 
  4. And further, click on the close company option. 
Close company - Delete a company file in QuickBooks
  1. Click on the edit tab when you see a drop-down menu. 
QuickBooks edit company list
  1. Choose the company file you wish to delete and put a checkmark next to it. 
  2. The last step is to click on the ok tab. 

And you can now perform the necessary steps to delete a company file. 

Steps to locate a company file in QuickBooks 

You can locate a company file in QuickBooks using the steps below: 

  1. Head to QuickBooks and find the file you want to delete. 
  2. Furthermore, open the company, choose the option to open a company file, and click on the next tab. 
  3. You now have to choose the file you want to delete and click on the open tab. 
  4. Followed by clicking on the F2 key that shows the path of the file stored in the system. 
  5. The last step is to close QuickBooks and also click on the file and exit tab. 

Find the company file in QuickBooks Mac 

If you are a QuickBooks Mac user, then simply carry out the below steps to delete a company file. 

  1. Begin with double-clicking QuickBooks and the company file that you will be deleting. 
  2. Furthermore, click on the help tab and also choose product information. 
  3. Once done with that, you will see a new screen opening and further move to the file location. 
  4. Proceed to the file path to delete the file. 
  5. The path would be Files>Intuit>QuickBooks> Company files> File name. 
  6. The last step is to close the screen. 

You might find this helpful: How to Set Up a New Company File in QuickBooks?

Alternate Steps to delete QuickBooks company file 

A bunch of steps can be performed to delete the QuickBooks company files. This includes the following: 

  • If your account is older than 60 days of activation 
    • Note that you can’t purge the company data if it has been active for more than 60 days. Thus, you will have to cancel the account and take a new subscription. 
  • Cancel the account 
    • Here, you will first have to sign in to the QuickBooks online company file. 
    • Furthermore, move to the gear icon and go for it. 
    • Once done with that navigate to the browse option. 
    • And further, click on the update credit card. 
    • Head to the subscription status section and click on the cancel subscription link. 
    • The last step is to complete the cancellation process by following the steps 
  • Start a new account 
    • After cancelation, you will have to set up a new account and this is possible with the steps below: 
    • Sign in to QuickBooks on Intuit from the browser and click on the enter tab. 
    • You can use the same old ID and password to log in or use the new credentials. 

Account not older than 60 days in activation and you need to import the QuickBooks desktop company file 

Well, if that is the case, then you can simply perform the following steps. However, it should be noted that QuickBooks online data, once deleted or replaced cannot be restored. 

  1. Sign in first. 
  2. After that, choose the gear icon in the upper right corner. 
  3. Once done with that, click on the import desktop data option. 
  4. And also opt for the appropriate version and perform the onscreen prompts to import the data. 

Also Read: How to Troubleshoot Error: Cannot Open QuickBooks Company File?

Conclusion!

Company file is one of the most crucial elements of QuickBooks. Any mistake in deleting the file can lead to data loss. Thus, ascertain that you are deleting the right company file. Hopefully, reading this segment might help you in some way to delete a company file in QuickBooks successfully.  However, if you have any queries, or if you need any sort of technical guidance, then in that case, consult our QuickBooks technical support team at  +1-844-499-6700, and they will provide you with instant support and guidance. 

Buy QuickBooks Today!


contact our male customer

Buy the all-new QuickBooks today!

Connect With QuickBooks Experts

Dial our toll-free number

1-844-405-0907

This contact form is available only for logged in users.

This will close in 0 seconds

Looking for QuickBooks Help?


This will close in 0 seconds